m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Trevethin including Cwm-Avon, Garndiffaith, Golynos,
Penygarn, Pentrepeod, Talywain, Tranch and Varteg

(A description written in 1891)

See also Abersychan and Pontnewynedd

The Parish of Trevethin includes the Town of Pontypool, and Villages of Abersychan, Garndiffaith, Pontnewynydd, Talywain and the hamlets of Cwm-Avon, Cwmffrwdoer, Cwmnantddu, Freehold, Golynos, Nightingale Village, Pentrepeod, Snatchwood, Varteg, Tranch and Cefnycrib.

A very extensive Parish; in the Northern division of the county, Hundred of Abergavenny, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Pontypool; Blaenau Gwent division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry, and Llandaff diocese.

The Ecclesiastical parishes of Abersychan and Pontnewynydd have been separated from the mother parish of Trevethin and their descriptions can be found under separate headings.

Trevethin is on the river Avon Llwyd and the Brecon & Monmouthshire Canals; the Great Western railway (Eastern Valleys branch) from Newport to Blaenavon passes through the Parish, as also a branch of the London & North Western from Pontypool to Blaenavon; Pontnewynydd is the nearest station to Trevethin church and is 1 mile north-west from Pontypool: the whole of the Parish of Trevethin (except Pontypool) is governed by a Local Board of Health, consisting of 24 members, who meet at Abersychan.

The church of St. Cadoc is a structure of stone, in the Early English style, erected in 1846 on the site of an older building, the tower of which, with pinnacles, was retained and raised 8 feet: it consists of chancel, nave, north aisle, transepts, south porch, and an embattled western tower containing 8 bells: a stained east window was erected November, 1890, by the Pontypool Fire Brigade, to the memory of 181 colliers (killed a the "Llanerch" and "Glyn" pits in the early part of the same year): there is also a memorial window in the south transept to the late Capel Hanbury-Leigh Esq. of Pontypool Park: there are also several tablets to the memory of members of the Leigh family: there are 700 sittings: in the churchyard are several ancient yew trees, and two handsome lych-gates have been added. The register dates from the year 1651. The living is a rectory, with Pontypool annexed; gross yearly income £500, with residence, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Llandaff, and held since 1890 by the Rev. Charles Edward Thomas Griffith M.A. of Trinity College, Cambridge. Parish Clerk: Thomas Garratt.

There is a Baptist chapel and Burial Ground at Pen-y-Garn, dating from 1726.


A School Board of 9 members was formed for the parish in 1874:

Clerk to the Board: H. Bythway, Pontypool

Attendance officer: J. Kelly, Pontnewynydd

The children attend the Board School at Park Terrace, Pontypool.

Post: Letters through Pontypool, which is the nearest post, money order & telegraph office, arrive at 7 a.m.

The lords of the manor are: George Basil Eyston Esq., Henry White Esq., Rev. Hugh Evans M.A., Rev. William Howell Evans M.A., George Payne Kitson Esq., Lieut-Col. Richard Snead Cox D.L., J.P., William Dawes Freshfield Esq. and Edwin Freshfield Esq. F.S.A. The principal landowners are John Capel Hanbury Esq. J.P., and Lord Tredegar. The soil is gravelly; subsoil, stone. The chief crops are wheat, oats and barley, and a deal of pasturage. The area is 11,329 acres; rateable value, £66,738.

The population in 1881 (which includes the town of Pontypool - 5,244) was 19,906, of which 7,927 are attached to the mother church.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable