m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Llanfihangel Llantarnam

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish between the road leading from Newport to Pontypool and the river Usk, with a station called Llantarnam on the the Newport, Abergavenny & Hereford section of the Great Western railway, 4 miles north from Newport and 156.1/2 from London; in the Southern district of the county, Hundred of Usk, Petty Sessional division of Caerleon, Union and County Court district of Newport; western division of Usk rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

The parish is governed by a Local Board of 9 members, formed in 1884.

The Monmouthshire Canal intersects the parish.

The church of St. Michael, restored in 1869, is an ancient building of stone in the Gothic style, consisting of chancel with side chapel, nave, south porch and an embattled western tower containing 6 bells: in the chancel are some handsome marble monuments: the mortuary chapel of the Dowling family adjoining the chancel, is separated from it by two ancient freestone arches of peculiar construction: there are 300 sittings. The register dates from the year 1727. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge £100, gross yearly value £135, with 21 acres of glebe, in the gift of Reginald Blewitt Dowling Esq., and held since 1872 by the Rev. Edward Marsh Prothero, who resides at Malpas. Parish Clerk: Henry Nott.

The charities, producing £21, are distributed yearly in money.

This place was formerly the site of an Abbey, founded c.1170 by Halvel ap. Iorwerth, and dedicated to SS. Mary and Deuma; at the Dissolution there were six monks, and the revenue was estimated at £71 yearly: the gateway stills remains.

Llantarnam Abbey, the seat of Edgar Williams Esq. is a building of stone in the Tudor style. Llantarnam Grange is the residence of Alfred Colerick Pilliner Esq. J.P.

Here are extensive fire-brick works belonging to The Henliss Fire Brick & Retort Works.

Post: Letters through Newport arrive at 8 a.m. Cwmbran is the nearest money order & telegraph office. Wall letter box cleared at 6.p.m; Sundays, 9.20 a.m.

Local Board:

Meets at St. Dials' Board School, Cwmbran - 1st Tuesday, 5.30 p.m.

Clerk: H. H. Haden, Club Chambers, Pontypool

Treasurer: R.J.C. Simpkins, Bristol & West of England Bank Limited, Newport

Medical Officer of Health: W.E.C. Murphy, Cwmbran

Surveyor & Inspector of Nuisances: vacant

Collector: Henry Thomas, Hill View, Cwmbran


A School Board of 7 members was formed in 1871:

Clerk to the Board: T.B. Jones, Bank Chambers, Newport,

Attendance Officer: John Powell, Oakfield, Cwmbran

The Schools are situated in Cwmbran, under which place the particulars will be found.

Infants' School, Miss Dunn, mistress

Railway Station:

Llantarnam Railway Station - Thomas Jones, station master

R.B.Dowling Esq. is lord of the manor. The principal landowners are Madame de Solignac and R.B.,Dowling Esq. The soil is clay; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are oats and barley; there is much pasture land, heavily timbered. The are is 4,092 acres; rateable value, £16,914.

The population in 1881 was 3,996 - a part of the district of Cwmbran is within this parish.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu





All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable