m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Penrhos or Penrose

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish 3 miles north from Raglan station on the Coleford, Monmouth, Usk & Pontypool line of the Great Western railway, 9 west from Monmouth and 10 south-east from Abergavenny; in the Southern division of the county, Hundred and Petty Sessional division of Raglan, Union and County Court District of Monmouth, Raglan & Trellech highway district; eastern division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

The church of St. Cadocus is an ancient building, in the Perpendicular style, repaired in 1848, and consists of chancel, nave, south porch and an embattled western tower containing 3 bells: a north aisle added in 1878: there are 150 sittings. The register of Baptisms dates from the year 1721; Marriages and Burials, 1718. The living is a vicarage, £94 yearly tithe rent-charge, gross yearly income £200, including 44 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Llandaff, and held since 1865 by the Rev. William Feetham M,A. of St. John's College, Oxford, rural dean of Abergavenny south-western division, Rev. Charles Henry Cook, curate. Parish Clerk: James Brown.

There is a chapel for Primitive Methodists.

Post Office, Cross Carig: James Adams, receiver. Letters from Newport arrive at 10.50 a.m; dispatched 12.50 p.m. The nearest money order & telegraph office is Raglan. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid.

Schools: National School (mixed), built in 1866, for 60 children; average attendance, 22; Miss Catherine Lewis, mistress.

Here is a camp, probably British, and a fortification, called Penrose Castle, consisting of a tumulus of considerable height, with a moat around it. In the year 1251, (35th King Henry III), a patent appointed "John de Monmouth Keeper of the Castle of Penrose, in Wales," and in the year following another patent pardoned "William de Cantalupe, Lord of Abergavenny, for having demolished the Castle of Penrose, belonging to John de Monmouth:" this, in all probability, is the castle referred to in these patents.

The Marquess of Abergavenny is lord of the manor. The principal landowners are Sir Henry Mather-Jackson Bart J.P., the Rev. Sir John Henry Fludyer Bart. M.A.. rector of Ayston, Rutland, Godfrey Seys Esq. J.P., John Arthur Edward Herbert Esq. D.L., J.P. and I. A. Bradney Esq. The soil is clay; subsoil. marl. The chief crops are wheat, barley, oats and turnips. The area is 2,599 acres; rateable value, £2,331.

The population in 1881 was 302.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • Aberystruth BasselegBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable