m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Mamhilad including Little Mill

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish on the road from Pontypool to Abergavenny, 2.1/2 miles north-east from Pontypool, 5 miles north-west-by-west from Usk and half-a-mile north-west from Little Mill station on the Coleford, Usk, Monmouth & Pontypool branch of the Great Western railway; in the Northern division of the county, Hundred of Abergavenny, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Pontypool; south-western division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

The Brecon & Monmouthshire Canal runs through the parish from north to south.

LITTLE MILL is in this parish, with a station on the Great Western railway.

The church is an ancient building of stone in the Gothic Style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and a western bell turret, containing 2 bells: there are 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1632. The living is a rectory, tithe rent-charge £132, net yearly income £140, with 20 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Llandaff, and held since 1855 by the Rev. Christopher Cook of Lampeter College, who is also rector of Llanfihangel-Pont-y-Moile. Parish Clerk: John Evans

Post Office: Mrs Frances Jones, receiver. Letters arrive from Pontypool at 7.20 a.m. & dispatched at 4.50 p.m. No dispatch on Sundays. The nearest money order office is at Pontypool & telegraph officer at Pontypool railway station.


A School Board of five member was formed in 1881 for the united district of Llanfihangel-Pont-y-Moile & Mamhilad. Board Day, 2nd Monday in the month, at the school, Llanfihangel Pont-y-Moile, at 10 a.m.

Clerk to the Board: Thomas Watkins, Club Chambers, Pontypool

School Attendance Officer: John Davis

The Board School for the two parishes is at Llanfihangel-Pont-y-Moile.

The Monmouthshire Reformatory, Little Mill:

comprises a school and a small farm; the estate was purchased by voluntary subscription & vested trustees & the whole expense of the necessary buildings was covered by subscriptions; in February, 1859, it was certified by Government & the school was opened for boys, who are sentenced by magistrates, first to a short term of imprisonment & then to a term of from two to five years of compulsory detention in a reformatory; a new school room & superintendent's room, with dormitory over, was added in 1881: The Reformatory now holds 40 boys;

Frederick G.W. Chalklen, Hon,Sec;

Rev. Stephen Cattley Baker B.A., Usk, Hon. Chaplain;

Donald Fludyer Boulton, Usk, Surgeon;

Edwin Bilcliffe, Superintendent & Farm Bailiff;

Melton Jones, labour master;

Charles Merrick, schoolmaster;

Mrs. Bilcliffe, Matron.

Railway Station:

Little Mill - Richard Ball, station master.

The Marquess of Abergavenny is lord of the manor. The principal landowners are the Marquess of Abergavenny, the trustees of Iltyd Nicholl Esq. J.P., and John Capel Hanbury Esq. J.P. The soil is clay; subsoil, marl. The chief crops are wheat, barley and oats. The are is 2.021 acres; rateable value, £2,497.

The population in 1881 was 314.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • Aberystruth BasselegBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable