m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Nantyglo including Garnfach

(see also Aberystruth)

(A description written in 1891)

A Village in the civil parish of Aberystruth, with a station on the Great Western railway, 180.1/4 miles from London, 2 north from Blaina and 5 east from Tredegar. In 1844 it was formed into an Ecclesiastical parish; it is in the Western division of the county, Petty Sessional division and Union of Bedwellty, Tredegar County Court district; Blaina Gwent division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

NantyGlo2An early 19th century engraving of Nant-y-Glo

It is lighted with gas from works at Blaina, the property of The Brynmawr & Abertillery Gas and Water Co. Limited, and is supplied with water by the local board from a reservoir situated in Ebbw Vale. Nant-y-Glo and Blaina are governed by a local Board of 12 members, formed in 1885.

The church of the Holy Trinity is a small building of stone in the Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, western porch and a western bell turret, containing one bell: there are 250 sittings. The register dates from the year 1844. The living is a vicarage, net yearly £300, with residence, in the gift of the Crown and Bishop of Llandaff alternately, and held since 1857 by the Rev. John Morgan M.A. of Jesus College, Oxford, and surrogate.

Here are a Calvinistic Methodist and two Wesleyan chapels, one being Welsh, and an English Baptist chapel.


A Village in the civil parish of Aberystruth, between Nant-y-Glo and Blaina, half a mile south from Brynmawr station on The London & North Western railway and near to Nant-y-Glo station on The Great Western railway: it is included in the Nant-y-Glo and Blaina Local Board District, and by resolution of that Board is included in the village of Nant-y-Glo for parochial as it is also for postal purposes.

Post & M.O.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office, Nant-y-Glo: (Railway Sub-Office. Letters should have R.S.O. Mon added) James Allen, receiver. Letters arrive at 6.30 a.m; North mail, 9 a.m; depart, north mail, 5 p.m; All parts, 7 p.m; Sundays, 6. p.m. The nearest telegraph office is at Brynmawr. Wall letter box, Chapel Road, 6.15 p.m.

Local Board:

Offices, High Street, Blaina

Board Day - 4th Thursday at 3 p.m.

Clerk: Alexander Shepard, 87 Queen St, Tredegar

Treasurer: A.C. Goddard, Brynmawr

Medical Officer of Health: Henry Crook Bevan L.R.C.P. Lond.

Surveyor and Inspector of Nuisances: George Stevens, 7 Queen St, Nant-y-Glo

Collector: Richard Williams, High St, Blaina

Places of Worship:

Holy Trinity Church: Rev. John Morgan M.A., vicar; John Daniel Timothy B.A. curate

Calvinistic Methodist (Welsh), Garn: Rev. David Roberts, minister

Baptist: Rev. David Lewis, minister

Baptist, Garn: Rev. J. Glynn Williams, minister

Baptist (Welsh), Queen St: Rev. Hugh Williams

Primitive Methodist, Garn: ministers various

Wesleyan (Welsh): ministers various

Wesleyan: ministers various


Board School, Nant-y-Glo, erected in 1885, for 331 children; average attendance, boys & girls 208, infants 120; William Roberts, master; Miss Mary Lewis, infants' mistress.

Board School, Garn, erected in 1880, for 850 children; average attendance, 175 boys, 180 girls & 229 infants; Henry Arthur Sproule, master; Miss Ellen Athay, girls' mistress; Mrs. Anne Evans, infants' mistress.

Railway Stations:

London & North Western (Brynmawr) - John Ferriday, station master.

Great Western (Nant-y-Glo) - Thomas Chambers, station master.

The collieries of the neighbourhood give employment to the population of Nant-y-Glo. The area is 690 acres.

The population in 118 was 3,429

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • Aberystruth BasselegBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable