m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Llandewi Fach or Llanthewy Vach

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish, 5 miles south-east from Pontypool, 4 miles south-east from Pontypool Road and 4 north from Caerleon station on the Pontypool, Caerleon & Newport Junction section of the Great Western railway; in the Southern division of Caerleon, Union and County Court district of Pontypool; western division of Usk rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

A small stream called the Soar divides it on the east from the parishes of Llangibby and Llandegveth.

The present church of St. David erected in 1857 on the site of the ancient church, is a building of stone, in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and a western turret containing 2 bells: there are 80 sittings, all free: there are several fine yew trees in the churchyard, the largest of which measures 32 feet round and is perfectly hollow. The situation of the church (4 miles from Caerleon) and its name, Llanthewy or Llanddewi, the church of St. David, seems to show that the celebrated Archbishop David first preached the gospel here and founded the church: in ancient documents the benefice is styled "St. David Episcopi Ecclesia." The living is a rectory, annexed to Llandegveth 1888, joint yearly tithe rent-charge £215, with 98 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Bishop of Llandaff, and held since 1888 by the Rev. William Addams Williams Evans M.A., St John's College, Oxford. The rectory would seem at first to have belonged to the Priory of Usk, and was then assigned, with other endowments, to the office of Treasurer to the Chapter of Llandaff: in the reign of Queen Anne this office, together with the endowments, was annexed to the Episcopate: the rectorial tithes, having thus for long years been appropriated or alienated from the benefice, were in 1870 restored by the late Bishop of Llandaff, the appropriator. The register of Baptisms dates from the year 1741; Marriages and Burials, 1750. Parish Clerk: John Pinches.

Post: Letters for the northern part of the parish are received through Pontypool, arrive at 9.30 a.m. & for the southern part through Caerleon, arrive at 9.15 a.m. The nearest money order & telegraph officer is at Caerleon. Wall Letter box cleared at 4.20 p.m.


The children of this parish attend the schools at Llanfrechfa and Llangibby.

The parish includes the manor of Bishton, of which the Bishop is lord, and the manor of Edlogan, of which John Capel Hanbury Esq. J.P. is lord.

The principal landowners are John Capel Hanbury Esq. J.P., Mrs. Nicholl,and the Bishop of Llandaff. The soil is clay; subsoil, marly. The geological formations, the old red sandstone and the silurian, meet in this parish; interesting fossils of the latter are found. Quartzose sandstone, fit for building, is quarried in one spot. The flora of the parish is rich and diversified. The chief crops are wheat, barley and oats. The area is 1,350 acres; rateable value, £1,045.

The population in 1891 was 165.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable