m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


St Mellons

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish on the main road from Cardiff to Newport, 4.1/2 miles north-east-by-east from Cardiff, and 3.1/2 west for Marshfield station on the Great Western (South Wales) railway; in the Southern division of the county, Hundred of Wentloog, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Cardiff; rural deanery of Newport, archdeaconry of Monmouth, and diocese of Llandaff.

The church of St. Melans, repaired in 1868, is an ancient building of stone, chiefly in the Decorated style. consisting of chancel with lady chapel and mortuary chapel, nave, porch and an embattled tower at the west end of the Lady Chapel, containing now only 2 bells in a perfect state; the ancient wagon roof, several benches and early font still remain in good preservation: there are 140 sittings. The register dates from the year 1722. The tithe rent-charge commuted at £171, gross yearly value £235 with 39 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Bishop of Llandaff, and held since 1864 by the Rev. John Williams M.A. of Jesus College, Oxford. Sexton: George Evans.

Here are Congregational, Baptist and Calvinistic Methodist chapels.

Charities producing £17.9s.4d. yearly are distributed in money.


National School (mixed), with master's house, enlarged in 1886, to hold 140 children; average attendance, 112; John Porter, master; Miss Joan Roberts, assistant mistress.

County Police:

John Hole, constable in charge.

Post & M.O.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office: Thomas Evans, receiver. Letters from Cardiff arrive at 6.40 a.m; dispatched at 6.40 p.m. The nearest telegraph office is at Castleton.

To the south of the road, between St. Mellons and Rumney, and near Pen-y-Pil, is a small encampment of an irregular circular form.

The principal seats are Llan-Rumney Hall, of George Crofts Williams Esq. J.P; Vaindre Hall, of John Cory Esq. J.P; and Ty-to-Maen, of Richard Allen Esq.

The principal landowners are Halswell Milbourne Kemeys-Tynte Esq. J.P, Lord Tredegar who is lord of the manor, Sir Arthur Mackworth Bart. R.E, D.L, J.P., George Crofts Williams Esq. J.P., and Richard Allen Esq. The soil is gravelly loam; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are corn and hay. The area is 2,574 acres; rateable value, £7,243.

The population in 1881 was 599.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable