m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Peterstone Wentloog

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish on the Bristol Channel, 6.1/2 miles south-south-west from Newport and 2.1/4 south from Marshfield Station on the South Wales section of the Great Western railway, which is in this parish; Peterstone is in the Southern division of the county, Hundred of Wentloog, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Newport; rural deanery of Newport, archdeaconry of Monmouth and in the diocese of Llandaff.

The church of St. Peter is an ancient building of stone with Bath stone dressing, in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and a western tower with pinnacles and spire, containing 6 bells, four of which are dates 1726 the original church was rebuilt in the 12th century by Mabilee, daughter of Sir Robert Fitzaymon, a Norman knight who lived in Cardiff Castle: the tower is a fine example of Perpendicular work: the church has been for the last two years and is now (1891) undergoing complete restoration; the nave at a cost of over £2,000, raised by subscription in memory of the Honorable Lady Walker, wife of Sir George Walker, of Castleton, under the direction of Messrs Bodley and Garner, architects, London; the chancel, by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners (Fursey and Harris, contractors, Castleton); one of the bells has been recast by Llewellins and James, of Bristol, at a cost of £12: there are 1,000 sittings: the churchyard has been put in complete order by the present vicar; Lord Tredegar has been a great benefactor. The register dates from the year 1707, and under the date March 1, 1870, contains an entry of the burial of Joseph Jones, farmer, at the age of 104; there is a parish terrier about three centuries old. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £70, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Bristol and held since 1846 by the Rev. Samuel Evans, of St. David's College, Lampeter, who is also vicar of Marshfield; the rectorial tithes, £142 yearly, with 100 or more acres of glebe land, are held by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. Parish Clerk: William Rees.

There is a Baptist Chapel, built in 1865.

Near the parish church are traces of an old floating dock and a market house with store houses &c. showing that an extensive trade must have once been carried on here: many of the old inhabitants of the parish remember that the foundations of various old houses were used to make the present roads: the ancient town with many of its inhabitants was destroyed by marine floods which broke through and destroyed the badly kept embankments.

Post: Letters through Cardiff, via Castleton, arrive about 10 a.m. Castleton is the nearest money order & telegraph office. Pillar box, at Marshfield station, cleared at 5.50 p.m.


A School Board of 5 members was formed in 1873

Clerk to the Board: John French Williams, Peterstone

Attendance officer: Edward Rees, Peterstone

Board School, built in 1875, for 48 children; average attendance, 27; T. Jones, master.

Colonel F. Lockwood, Lord Tredegar and the Ecclesiastical Commissioners are lords of the manor, and with Halswell Milbourne Kemys-Tynte and John Heath Stubbs Esq., are the principal landowners. The soil is rich loam; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are pasture, corn and beans. The area is 2,134 acres of land and 1,100 of water; rateable value, £6,321.

The population in 1881 was 155.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • Aberystruth BasselegBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable