m6Flag of St David


Cwmbran including Pontnewydd

(A description written in 1891)

A District comprising portions of the Parishes of Llanvihangel Llantarnam and Llanfrechfa, and contains the two railways stations of Pontnewydd and Cwm-Bran on the Eastern Valleys section of the Great Western railway; the latter station is 163.3/4 from London, 4 south from Pontypool and 4 north from Newport; it is in the Southern division of the county, Hundred of Usk; Petty Sessional division of Caerleon, Union and County Court district of Newport; and western division of Netherwent rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

Holy Trinity church, Llanfrechfa Upper, is used by a portion of the inhabitants of this district.

Here is the Mission Church of St. Gabriel, an iron structure, erected in 1880 at a cost of £500, with sitting for 400 persons.

The Catholic chapel is dedicated to Our Lady of the Angels

There are Baptist and two Congregational chapels, a Wesleyan and a Bible Christian chapel, also Baptist and Congregational chapels at Upper Cwm-Bran.

The Oakfields Iron Works and the wire rod and rope manufactory of Messrs. J C Hill & Co. Limited employ 200 men. The Patent Nut & Bolt Company Limited include in their works 20 puddling furnaces, 10 balling furnaces, rolling mills and a very large colliery giving constant employment to about 2,000 men; there are also vitriol works and brick fields.

Upper Cwm-Bran is in the parish of Upper Llanfrechfa and adjoins the village of Cwm-Bran.

Post, M.O. & T.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office - William Henry Walters, sub-postmaster.

Letters from Newport arrive at 7.20 & 10 a.m; dispatched at 4.45 & 7 p.m.

Wall letter box, Oakfield, cleared ay 5.30 p.m; Spring street cleared at 5 p.m.

Places of Worship:

St Gabriel's Iron Church: Rev. William G Govan

Catholic Chapel of Our Lady of the Angels: served from Pontypool

Baptist (Siloam): Rev. John Evans, minister

Baptist, Upper Cwm-Bran: Rev. William Rice, minister

Bible Christian

Congregational (Elim): Rev. Samuel Jones, minister

Congregational, Upper Cwm-Bran: Rev. Iltyd James, minister

Wesleyan: ministers various


St Dial's Board School, under Llanvihangel-Llantarnam School Board, erected in 1875 & enlarged in 1883, for 560 children; average attendance, 170 boys, 158 girls & 173 infants; William John James, master; Sarah Jane Williams, mistress; Mrs E A James, infants' mistress

Upper Cwm-Bran School (mixed), under Upper Llanfrechfa School Board, built in 1868, for 350 boys & girls; average attendance, 250; infants' school, built in 1891, for 150 children; average attendance, 70; Richard Evans, master; Mrs Evans, mistress; Miss Ada Isaacs, infants' mistress

National Church School (mixed), built in 1861, with master's residence, for 220 children; average attendance, 170; Henry Charles Chedzoy, master; Mrs May Chedzoy, mistress

Catholic School, built in 1883, for 210 children; average attendance, 150; Miss Maud Lucas, mistress; Miss Christina Collier, assistant mistress

Railway Stations:

Cwm-Bran, Robert Tilney, station master and manager of goods department.

Upper Pontnewydd, William James, station master

The trustees of the C Hanbury Leigh Esq. are lords of the manor. The principal landowners are the Patent Nut & Bolt Company. The soil is clay; subsoil, sandstone. The chief crops are wheat, barley, oats and roots, with some pasture. The area and population are returned with the parishes in which Cwm-Bran stands.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • Aberystruth • Basseleg Bettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable