m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Llanfihangel Crucorney including Penbiddle

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish and Village on the road from Abergavenny to Hereford, in a valley between the Skirrid, or Holy Mountain, and the Black Mountains, 4.1/2 miles north from Abergavenny and 20 south-west from Hereford; partly in the Northern division of the county, Hundred of Skenfreth, but mostly in the Hundred of Abergavenny, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Abergavenny, north-western division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

There are two stations in this parish, on the Hereford & Abergavenny section of the Great Western railway, about 2.1/2 miles apart, one called Llanfihangel station and the other Pandy station.

The church of St. Michael is a building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave (rebuilt in 1835), south porch and an embattled western tower containing 2 bells: there are 200 sittings. The register of Baptisms dates from the year 1678; Marriages, 1679; Burials, 1629. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge (vicarial) £225, net yearly value £280, with residence and 35 acres of glebe, in the gift of the Lord Chancellor, and held since 1873 by the Rev. Augustus Rickards Blundell B.A. of Queen's College, Oxford. Parish Clerk: Charles Caldecott.

There are chapels for Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists here and at Pandy, which is 2 miles north on the borders of Herefordshire.

Llanfihangel Court, in the occupation of Col. Napier George Sturt, is a very ancient structure.

Post, M.O.& T.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office, Llanfihangel:

Alfred John Watkins, receiver. Letters arrive from Abergavenny at 7.10 a.m; dispatched at 4.25 p.m.

Post & M.O.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office, Pandy:

Henry Parry, receiver. Letters arrive from Abergavenny at 7.45 a.m. & dispatched at 3.45 p.m. Nearest telegraph office, Llanfihangel.


National School, erected in 1876, for 90 children; average attendance, 59; Miss Beatrice Daniel, mistress.

Railway Stations:

Llanfihangel Crucorney - James Williams, station master

Pandy - James Brown, station master.

The Marquess of Abergavenny, who is lord of the manor, Harley Rodney Esq. and J.B.Rosher Esq. are the principal landowners. The soil is light loam; subsoil, gravel. The land is chiefly in pasture, The area is 3,268 acres; rateable value, £6,290.

PENBIDDLE is a hamlet in Llanfihangel Crucorney, half a mile south from Pandy station.

The population in 1881 was 445.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu



All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable