m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David



including Aberbeeg, Six Bells and Crumlin

(A description written in 1891)

See also Crumlin

ChristchurchAberbeegGerryP1Christchurch, Aberbeeg - photo © Gerry Pritchard

Llanhilleth or Llanhiddel is a Parish with a station 1 mile south from the church, on the Western Valleys section of the Great Western railway, 173 miles from London and 5 miles west from Pontypool; in the Northern division of the county, Hundred of Abergavenny, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Pontypool; Blaenau Gwent division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

The Monmouthshire Canal runs through the parish; the river Ebbw forms the western boundary of the parish.


The Guardian Statue on the site of the Six Bells Colliery - photo © Gerry Pritchard

ABERBEEG, SIX BELLS and CRUMLIN are villages of Llanhilleth; the latter [Crumlin] will be found under a separate heading.

The church of St. Illtyd, situated on rising ground, is an ancient building of stone in the Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, west porch and a tower with spire containing 2 bells: in the church are various monuments, an ancient font and an antique church chest: the church has 150 sittings: the register dates from the year 1733. There are several old yew trees in the churchyard. The living is a rectory, tithe rent-charge £75, gross yearly income £110, with residence, in the gift of the Marquess of Abergavenny, and held since 1843 by the Rev. James Hughes, surrogate, who resides at Crumlin. Parish Clerk: Elias Pritchard.

There are Baptist, Congregational and Primitive Methodist chapels.

Near the church is a large barrow, and there are also some remains of a castle. There is a colliery of some extent.

Post Office: Thomas Jones, receiver. Aberbeeg (Railway Sub-Office, Letters should have R.S.O. Mon added - Letters for Llanhilleth through Newport). Letters arrive at 5.10 & 6.50 a.m; north mail, 9.50 a.m; depart, north mail, 1.15 p.m, 7.40 p.m. for all parts. Abertillery is the nearest money order & telegraph office. Postal orders are issued here but not paid.


A School Board of five members was formed in 1872;

Clerk to the Board: E. Lawrence, Bank Chambers, Newport

Attendance officer: Charles Wm. Carpenter, Abertillery

Board School (mixed), built in 1873 & since enlarged to hold 400 children; average attendance, 140 boys and girls & 80 infants; Theophilus Evans, master; Miss Eveline Rowland, infants' mistress.

Railway Station:

Elijah Thomas, station master

ABERBEEG - a village in the parish of Llanhilleth, with a station at the junction of the Blaina and Ebbw Vale railways with the Western Valleys line belonging to the Great Western Company, 173.3/4 miles from London, 4.1/2 south from Blaina and 8 north-west from Pontypool. Here are several collieries, a large brewery and a flour mill.

SIX BELLS is 1 mile north from Aberbeeg railway station.

The lords of the manor are as follows: George Basil Eyston Esq., Henry White Esq., Rev. Hugh Evans M.A., George Payne Kitson Esq., Lieut-Col. Richard Snead Cox D.L., J.P., William Dawes Freshfield Esq., and Edwin Freshfield Esq. F.S.A. The principal landowners are Percy Phillips Esq, E Kendall Esq., and Mrs Williams. The soil is gravel and clay. The chief crops are wheat, oats and barley. The are is 1,998 acres; rateable value, £8,413.

The population in 1881 was 1,383.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu





All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable