m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Llantillio Pertholey including Bettws

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish on the road from Abergavenny to Hereford, and on the river Gavenny, 2 miles north from Abergavenny railway station; in the Northern division of the county, Hundred, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Abergavenny; north-western decision of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

The parish is nearly surrounded by lofty mountains.

The church of St. Teilo is an ancient building of stone, in the Gothic style of the 15th Century, consisting of chancel, nave, three chapels, south porch and an embattled tower with pinnacles containing 4 bells; there are 250 sittings. The register dates from the year 1591. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge £265, net yearly value £298, with residence and 55 acres of glebe, and interest of glebe sold £25, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Llandaff, and held since 1872 by the Rev. Alexander Ferrier Hogan M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin, who is also surrogate. Parish Clerk: John Jones.

At Bettws, a place in this parish, 2.1/2 miles north-west, there is a small Chapel of Ease, a stone building, having 50 sittings.

Mr Crawshay Bailey's Charity, being the interest upon £500, is paid yearly to the vicar and churchwardens towards the repair and maintenance of the church; £25 16s. proceeds of certain charities, is distributed twice a year at Christmas and Midsummer in small sums from 5s, to 15s.

Post, M.O. & T.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office: Alfred Hicks, receiver. Letters through Abergavenny arrive at 6.45 a.m; dispatched 5.15 p.m. Wall letter boxes, Triley Court, cleared at 4.50 p.m. & Pantygelly, cleared at 4.30 p.m.


Parish School, erected in 1872, for 140 children; average attendance, 113; John Eales, master.

British School, erected for 60 children; average attendance, 35; Miss Williams, mistress.

Maindiff Court is the residence of Frederick L Davies Esq. J.P; Triley Court, of Thomas Phillips Price Esq. M.P., J.P; Tygwyn, of His Honor Judge Owen D.L., J.P; and Tredilion Park, of Mrs. Ouchterlony.

The Marquess of Abergavenny, who is lord of the manor, Mrs. Gordon Canning, Mrs. Curre, Harley Rodney Esq., and Thomas Phillips Price Esq., J.P., M.P. are the principal landowners. The soil is gravel and loam. The chief crops are wheat, barley and some land in pasture. The area is 6,841 acres; rateable value, £11,328.

The population in 1881 was 1,225.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable