m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Llanwenarth Ultra

including Garndyrris, Govilon and Pwll Du

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish formed in 1865 from the civil parish of Llanwenarth Citra, on the river Usk, with the station at Govilon (in the parish) on the Abergavenny & Merthyr branch of the London & North Western railway, and contains the ecclesiastical district of Christ Church, 2.1/2 miles north-west from Abergavenny; in the Northern division of the county, Hundred, Petty Sessional division, Union and County Court district of Abergavenny; north-western division of Abergavenny rural deanery, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

Christ Church, situated in the village of Govilon, is a building of stone in the Early English style, erected in 1848 and consecrated in 1860; it consists of chancel, nave, north aisle, south porch and incomplete western tower containing one bell, and vestry: there are 300 sittings. The register dates from the year 1860. The living is a rectory, tithe rent-charge £205, with residence, in the gift of the rector of Llanwenarth Citra, and held since 1865 by the Rev. George Grove B.A. of Christ's College, Cambridge. Parish Clerk and Sexton: John Harper.

There is a Baptist Chapel, founded in 1652.

Llanwenarth House is the seat of James Humfrey Esq. M.A., J.P.

The Marquess of Abergavenny is lord of the manor. The principal landowners are James Humfrey Esq M.A., J.P., Col.William Henry Wheeley J.P. and Major John Griffiths Wheeley D.L., J.P. The soil is sandy; subsoil, stone. The land is chiefly pasture. The area is 2,433 acres of land and 22 of water; rateable value, £4,342.

The population in 1881 was 1,539 (the ecclesiastical district of Christ Church containing about 900)



A large Village in the parish of Llanwenarth Ultra, with a population of about 500. Here is a stone building containing a hall and reading room, erected in 1889 at the coast of £300, defrayed by the present rector; the hall will hold 80 people.

The parish church (Christ Church), Baptist Chapel, public schools, post office and railway station are all in this village.

Post Office, Govilon: Mrs Eliza Williams, sub-postmistress. Letters from Abergavenny arrive at 7 a.m; dispatched at 4.45 p.m. & Sundays 9.25 a.m. Gilwern is the nearest money order & telegraph office. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid.


National School, erected, with residence, in 1846, enlarged in 1860, for 120 children; average attendance, 80; Thomas Chambers, master; Miss Harriet Bell, infants' mistress.

British School (mixed), erected in 1861, for 80 children; average attendance, 60; Alfred John Emery, master.

Railway Station:

Govilon - Thomas Millne Youngson, station master.



A Hamlet in the parish of Llanwenarth Ultra, situate amongst the hills at an altitude of 1,400 feet, 5 miles north-west from Abergavenny. The hill scenery in the neighbourhood is magnificent. The inhabitants are all miners or colliers or engaged in the limestone works belonging to the Blaenavon Iron Company.

Church mission services are held every Sunday in the National School by a lay reader.

There is a Baptist and Congregational Union chapel and a Wesleyan chapel.


National School, erected in 1870, for 120 children; average attendance, 90; Harry Buswell, master.



A Hamlet of the parish of Llanwenarth Ultra, amongst the hills at an altitude of 1,000 feet, 4 miles north-west from Abergavenny; it is almost depopulated, the iron works formerly here having been removed to Blaenavon.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu




All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable