m4Monmouthshire flag by NikNaks

m6Flag of St David


Llandogo including Whitebrook

(A description written in 1891)

A Parish and a Village on the river Wye, which here separates the county from Gloucestershire, and on the right of the road from Monmouth, 9 north from Chepstow, 7.1/2 miles south-south-east from Monmouth, 9 north from Chepstow and 1 south-west from Bigsweir station on the Wye Valley railway; in the Southern division of the county, Hundred of Raglan, Petty Sessional division of Trellech, Monmouth Union and County Court district, Raglan and Trellech highway; eastern division of the rural deanery of Netherwent, Monmouth archdeaconry and Llandaff diocese.

The church of St. Odoceus, rebuilt in 1860 is a building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, west and south porches and spire containing 2 bells: there are three stained windows: the chancel has been recently (1891) decorated in marble and alabaster, with a mosaic figure on either side: there are sittings for 200 persons. The register dates from the year 1694. The living is a rectory, with the chapelry of Whitebrook annexed, tithe rent-charge £151, net value £200, with 22.1/2 acres of glebe and house, in the gift of the Bishop of Llandaff, and held since 1887 by the Rev. Llewellyn Arnott Rees M.A. of Queens' College, Cambridge. Parish Clerk: James Payne.

Here is a Baptist chapel, erected in 1882.

The Llandogo Falls, sometimes called the Cleddon Shoots, commence at the top of steep wooded hill, and the waters in rainy seasons, rush down into the village. which is surrounded by magnificent scenery.

At WHITEBROOK, 2.1/2 miles north from the parish church, is a Chapel of Ease, a stone building, consisting of nave with small chancel, and has 180 sittings.

There is also a Baptist chapel, erected in 1829.

Post & M.O.O., S.B. & Annuity & Insurance Office [Llandogo] - Miss Mary Williams, receiver. Letters are received through Chepstow, arrive at 8.10 a.m; dispatched at 5.50 p.m. The nearest telegraph office is at Tintern.

Post Office, Whitebrook - Phillip Crum, receiver. Letters from Monmouth arrive at 9.a.m; dispatched at 4 p.m. Landogo is the nearest money order office and Redbrook the nearest telegraph office.


National Board (mixed), built in 1872, for 83 children; average attendance, 45; Miss Mary Jane Karr, mistress.

Church of England, Whitebrook, built in 1830, for 60 children; average attendance, 45, Miss Mary Ann Smith, mistress.

Railway Station (Bigsweir):

George Albert Fidler, station master.

The Duke of Beaufort, who is lord of the manor, Douglas Rooke Esq., and Antonio Gallenga Esq. are the principal landowners. The soil is sandy loam; subsoil, sandstone and gravel. The chief crops are wheat, barley and oats. The area is 1,777 acres of land and 44 of water; rateable value, £2,074.

The population in 1881 was 583.

(extracts from Kelly's 1891 Directory of Monmouthshire, transcribed by J. Doe)




AberbargoedAberbeegAbercarnAbergavennyAbersychan Abertillery (also see Aberystruth) • AberystruthBettws (near Llantillio Pertholey) Bettws (near Newport)Bettws NewyddBishtonBlackwoodBlaenavonBlainaBriery Hill BryngwynBwlch Trewyn Caerleon or Llangattock-Juxta-Caerleon (see Christchurch for Caerleon Village)CaerwentCaldicotCastletonCefnycribChapel HillChepstow Christchurch (also see Newport)Clawrplwyf CoedkernewCoed y PaenCrickCroesyceiliogCross AshCross KeysCrosshands Crumlin (also see Llanhilleth & Mynyddislwyn) Cwm (also see Ebbw Vale)Cwmavon (also see Trevethin)Cwmbran (also see Llanvihangel Llantarnam & Llanfrechfa) Cwmcarn CwmcarvanCwmffrwdoerCwmnantdduCwmtillery (also see Aberystruth)CwmynyscoyCwmyoy DevaudenDewstowDingestowDinhamDixton NewtonDuffrynEarlswoodEbbw ValeFleur-de-LysFreehold Garndiffaith (also see Trevethin) GarndyrrisGarnfachGellygroesGlascoedGoldcliff GolynosGovilonGoytreGraig Griffithstown (also see Llanfrechfa & Panteg) GrosmontGwehelogGwernesneyHardwickHenllysHigh CrossHighmoor Hill • HowickIfton IttonKemeys CommanderKemeys Inferior Kilgwrrwg Langstone Little Mill LlanarthLlanbadocLlanbedr LlandavennyLlandewi Fach Llanddewi RhydderchLlanddewi SkirridLlandegvethLlandennyLlandevaudLlandogoLlanellenLlanfaeneorLlanfair DiscoedLlanfair GilgoedLlanfair Kilgeddin • Llanfihangel CrucorneyLlanfihangel Gobion • Llanfihangel juxta Roggiett • Llanfihangel LlantarnamLlanfihangel nigh UskLlanfihangel Pont y MoileLlanfihangel TafernbachLlanfihangel Tor y MynyddLlanfihangel Ystern LlewernLlanfihangel y VedwLlanfoistLlanfrechfaLlangattock • Lingoed Llangattock nigh Usk • Llangattock Vibon Avel • LlangeviewLlangibbyLlangovenLlanguaLlangwm Ishaf & Llangwm Uchaf • LlanhennockLlanhillethLlanishenLlanllowellLlanmartinLlanover • LlanrumneyLlansantffraedLlansoy • Llanthewy RytherchLlanthewy Skirrid • Llanthewy VachLlanthomasLlanthonyLlantillio CrossennyLlantillio PertholeyLlantrissentLlanvachesLlanvair DiscoedLlanvair KilgeddinLlanvapleyLlanvetherineLlanwenarth CitraLlanwenarth UltraLlanwernLliswerry Llwyndu Machen (Upper & Lower) • Maes-y-cwmmerMagorMaindee (also see Christchurch & Newport)MalpasMamhiladMarshfieldMathern (also see St Pierre)May HillMichaelston y FedwMitchel TroyMonkswoodMonmouthMountonMynyddbachMynyddislwynMynyddmaenNantyderryNantygloNashNew TownNew TredegarNewbridgeNewcastleNewchurch East & WestNewport • Nightingale VillageOldcastleOvermonnow PantegPar Grace DieuPen y Clawdd PenaltPenbiddlePengamPenhowPenmaenPenpergwmPenrhosPenrosePenterryPentrepeod PenygarnPenyrheol Peterstone WentloogPillgwenllyPonthirPontllanfraithPontnewydd (also see Llanfrechfa)PontnewynyddPontrhydyrynPontygofPontymister PontymoilePontypoolPontywainPorthcassegPortskewettPwll DuPwllmeyricRaglanRedbrookRedwickRhydgwernRhymneyRisca RockRockfieldRogerstoneRoggiettRumneyRunston (also see Mathern)St ArvansSt Brides Netherwent St Brides WentloogSt Kingsmark St LawrenceSt MaughansSt MellonsSt Pierre (also see Mathern)St WoolosSebastopol (also see Panteg)ShirenewtonSirhowySix BellsSkenfrithSnatchwoodSomerton CommonSudbrookTalywain (also see Trevethin) • The Race and Upper RaceTintern AbbeyTintern ParvaTranchTredegarTredunnock TregareTrellechTrellech GrangeTrevethinTreworganTrostreyUndyUpper MachenUskVartegVictoriaWaunlwydWhitebrookWhitsonWilcrickWolvesnewtonWonastowWyeshamYnysddu



All images unless otherwise credited are © MonGenes and may not be reproduced without permission

© MonGenes 2013

Searchable Searchable